Cart Summary

Your shopping cart is empty.
Product Qty Amount

Principles of Closing

This course is the Minnesota State approved Closing Procedures/Loan Signing Agent Certification course that includes 8 hours of course study and the ability to print the closing manual. The final examination required by the State is INCLUDED in the course at no additional charge! No need to schedule your Closing Agent Licensing Final Exam with Pearson Vue or pay an additional fee because we've got you covered. The final exam does require a Proctor - a disinterested 3rd party (non-family member and/or individual with no financial interest), who signs a statement saying that you did not use books, notes, etc., to look up answers when taking the examination. Get started on your journey to becoming a Closing Agent/Loan Signing Agent today!


What is the pre-license Closing Agent Course

Principles of Closing“ is the pre-license closing procedures course approved by the Minnesota Department of Commerce for the Closing Agent License required by the state for those who notarize any real estate documents – deeds, mortgages, leases, etc. The course closely follows the curriculum required by the state under MN Statute. The course is available 24/7 via smart phone, tablet or computer, and you can log in and log out at will, bookmarking your place as you go. 

Each section is timed and must be completed in order.  A quiz for each section must be passed in order to move on to the next section. This assures that you understand the material. While each section has a minimum amount of time allotted, you may take as long as you wish to thoroughly understand the material, and you may review the course materials as often as you like, so long as you complete the entire course within 120 days.

At the end on the course, there is an online examination that requires a proctor, a non-relative, with no financial interest in your passing the exam, who signs a prescribed Proctor Form saying they saw you take the exam with no assistance from books, notes, your computer, or other sources, when taking the test. When you have passed the exam, you must submit the  required proctor form and course evaluation before your course completion can be submitted to the state by your Course Provider.

Course Completion will be sent on your behalf to Commerce electronically. Please use your legal name, as it appears on your driver’s license.

  1. Complete the required state Closing Agent License application. 
    The application for an Individual Closing Agent License is found on the website. Select:  MN Department of Commerce> Licensing Services> Submit License Application> Individual (unless you own a closing company)> License Type> Closing Agent. Complete the information and pay the one-time license fee. If you do not have a personal Trust Account (which is not required – and not recommended), you must also submit a completed and notarized  Trust Account Waiver Form to

  2. Complete the Required Education. Obtaining your Closing Agent License makes you eligible to close for title companies, lenders, law firms, or anyone who deals with real estate.
    The class contains the legal content required under Statute. Minnesota does not recognize the nickname “Signing Agent or Mobile Notary,” a common name for persons who travel to meet people, check ID and notarize signatures on real estate documents. There is potentially a $10,000 fine per transaction for notarizing real estate documents without the Closing Agent License, which demonstrates a higher level of knowledge through education. The license requires information on trust accounts as well as personal information to demonstrate trustworthiness, as Closing Agents handle large sums of money and confidential information. For the state approved pre-license course, enroll above.

  3. If you do not have a Notary Commission, you may want to do this first, as it is presently taking weeks for a Notary Commissions to be issued.    
    You can complete an application for your Notary Commission with the Minnesota Secretary of State.  Depending on the answers to the Notary Application, a Bureau of Criminal Apprehension background check may be performed. If a background check is performed, a copy is available to you under the Freedom of Information Act if you request it.  Note that separate Commissions are required to Electronically Notarize or Remotely Notarize, and there are laws to be followed. While education is not a state requirement for notaries, you must know the correct certificates and your notary work must conform to state law. Additional Notary Training can be a game-changer for employment.  To learn what a notary can and cannot do, take a Minnesota Class. National courses do not cover Minnesota laws and you don’t want to do things incorrectly.
    MN Notary Training, Traditional, Electronic & Remote sign up here